The Canadian Roundtable for Sustainable Crops (CRSC) was formed in 2013 to facilitate cross-commodity collaboration on sustainable agriculture issues and opportunities facing grains sector participants. Comprised of grower, industry, customer and consumer organizations, the CRSC is a national, industry-led forum engaging value chain stakeholders in assessing and responding to marketplace demands and showcasing Canada’s performance in the area of agriculture sustainability.


The Canadian grains sector is recognized globally to be economically viable, socially responsible and a leader in the adoption of environmentally sustainable production practices.


Create value for all members of Canada’s grains sector by providing a national forum for advancing, reporting on and communicating the sustainability of Canadian grain production.


Who’s Involved

Each link in Canada’s grains value chain is critical to the work of the CRSC. From seed developers through to end customers, the collective involvement of value chain members is what will enable the CRSC to achieve its objective of advancing the sustainability of Canadian farms while meeting the expectations of consumers for sustainably produced Canadian grains.

As members of the CRSC, value chain organizations learn about and have an opportunity to contribute to both the development and implementation of solutions for meeting the expectations of domestic and global markets for sustainably sourced Canadian grains. They also have access to research, tools and other resources being generated by the CRSC and its partners to facilitate and communicate Canada’s adoption of sustainable production practices.

In turn, members are encouraged to provide first-hand insights into the demands they are facing and what they are doing to address those demands. Other ways of contributing to the fulfillment of the CRSC objectives include adopting or encouraging the adoption of sustainable practices, raising awareness of the CRSC and sustainable practices being employed, and supporting the CRSC initiatives through financial or in-kind commitments.

Click here for a list of current members.

Click here to learn more about key value chain categories and their unique contribution to the CRSC and advancing the sustainability profile of Canada’s grains sector.


The CRSC Governance

The CRSC is governed by representatives of each of the following member categories who sit as members of the CRSC Steering Committee:

  • Grower association (provincial, regional or national)
  • Value chain council / commodity association
  • Grain handler / marketer / exporters
  • Input supplier – seed / fertilizer / agro-chemicals / financial services
  • Food and feed manufacturing / distribution / retail / food service
  • Environmental associations / sustainability certifiers and services / research and academic institutions

The members of the 2023 CRSC Steering Committee are:

  • Jason Lenz - Canada Grain Council (Chair)
  • Andre Harpe - Grain Growers of Canada
  • Cheryl Mayer - Canadian Canola Growers Association
  • Salah Zoghlami - Producteurs de Grains du Québec
  • Shannon Sereda - Alberta Grains
  • Jake Leguee, SaskWheat
  • Paul Hoekstra - Grain Farmers of Ontario
  • Taryn Dickson - Canola Council of Canada
  • Greg Northey - Pulse Canada
  • Roy van Wyk - Seeds Canada
  • Mark Walker - Cereals Canada
  • Cassandra Cotton - Fertilizer Canada
  • Justine Taylor - Croplife Canada
  • Aodin MacDonell, Greenfield Global
  • Courtney Stange - Cargill
  • Jim Tokarchuk - Soil Conservation Council of Canada
  • Paul Thoroughgood - Ducks Unlimited Canada

 The CRSC Staff

Susie Miller, Executive Director
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Photos supplied courtesy of the Canola Council of Canada, Grain Farmers of Ontario, and Syngenta Canada.